6 WSS staffers recognized by National Scholastic Press Association’s Honor Roll of Student Journalists


journalism honor roll 2015Pictured left to right: Seniors Megumi Kitamoto, Lauren Knudson, Katie Peplow, Lushia Anson and Jaycie Weathers. Not pictured: Kelsey Keranen ’16.

The National Scholastic Press Association recognized six West Side Story staff members with the NSPA Honor Roll of Student Journalists for 2015. Lushia Anson ’15, Kelsey Keranen ’16, Megumi Kitamoto ’15, Lauren Knudson ’15, Katie Peplow ’15 and Jaycie Weathers ’15 were all honored.

The NSPA Honor Roll of Student Journalists honors students who have worked on an NSPA member publication for two or more years and have maintained a grade point average of at least 3.75 on a four-point scale. Publication advisers or journalism instructors have nominated these students for the honor.

Recipients will be recognized at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention on Saturday, April 18 in Denver.