IHSPA names 4 WSS staffers Emerging Journalists


2018 Emerging Journalists: Anjali Huynh ’19, Jenna Wang ’20, Deniz Ince ’19 and Kara Wagenknecht ’19.

From the 39 finalists, the Iowa High School Press Association selected 10 Emerging Journalists in the state of Iowa and four are WSS staffers: Reporter Anjali Huynh ’19, Reporter Jenna Wang ’20, Assistant Sports Editor Deniz Ince ’19 and Photographer Kara Wagenknecht ’19

This program serves to acknowledge and encourage high school freshmen, sophomores and juniors who demonstrate promise in journalism. Other Emerging Journalists recognized are from Des Moines East, Hudson, Johnston and North Cedar. For information on past West Side Story awards, click here.