West leads the state with 25 Semifinalists in National Merit Scholarship Program

Principal Gregg Shoultz announced 25 seniors to be named National Merit Semifinalists for the 63rd annual program on Sept. 13.

Pictured: West High Students (Row 1) Gracie Rechkemmer, Leah Brownsberger, Wingel Xue, Catherine Ju, Jeongwoo Seo, Rui Jin, Eman Elsheikh, Mason Wang; (Row 2) Kevin Liu, Joshua Burbidge, Evan Geng, Robert Walling, Daniel Burgess, Colleen Bloeser, Jingyi Du, Ethan Trepka; (Row 3) Jack Wolf, Lien Zhu, Alex Granner, Patrick Shirazi, Shawn Thacker Nathan Stone, Junhee Lee, Adam Conrad; (Not pictured) Nicole Alden

Alyson Kuennen, News Editor, Photographer

Among the highest scoring entrants in Iowa, 25 West High seniors and 7 City High seniors have the ability to become National Merit Scholarship Finalists as of Sept. 13.

West semifinalists include:

  • Nicole Alden
  • Colleen Bloeser
  • Leah Brownsberger
  • Joshua Burbidge
  • Daniel Burgess
  • Adam Conrad
  • Jingyi Du
  • Eman Elsheikh
  • Evan Geng
  • Alex Granner
  • Rui Jin
  • Catherine Ju
  • Junhee Lee
  • Kevin Liu
  • Gracie Rechkemmer
  • Jeongwoo Seo
  • Patrick Shirazi
  • Nathan Stone
  • Shawn Thacker
  • Ethan Trepka
  • Robert Walling
  • Mason Wang
  • Jack Wolf
  • Wingel Xue
  • Lien Zhu

City High semifinalists include:

  • Eden Knoop
  • Mary Liebig
  • Quenton Max
  • Gabriel McCormick
  • Maxwell Meyer
  • Jakob Roggy
  • Evelyn Smith

Semifinalists must have a high academic record, be commended by the principal and merit SAT scores that reflect their top-grade PSAT/NMSQT scores in the preliminary screening of program entrants. An essay regarding a semifinalist’s leadership roles in the school and community is also necessary.

Winners will be granted the National Merit title and be given $32 million worth of Merit Scholarship awards between April and July.