NSPA names WSS staffers as top 10 finalists in national contests

Winners to be announced Nov. 13 at NSPA’s virtual convention


WSS social media staff, Zoey Guo, Hanah Kitamoto, Kailey Gee, Owen Aanestad, Tosh Klever, Krisha Kapoor, Caroline Mascardo and Alaina Greenlee are all finalists in NSPA’s individual contests.

National Scholastic Press Association announced finalists for its 2021 individual contests, with each contest category including up to 10 finalists nationwide. Winners will be announced at NSPA/JEA’s virtual convention Nov. 13.

The West Side Story finalists include:

  1. Sports Game/Action Photo of the Year finalist: Owen Aanestad ’22 for a photo of Amre Ibrahim ’23 in “Trojans come up short in state championship
  2. Sports Story of the Year finalist: Hanah Kitamoto ’22 and Caroline Mascardo ’22 for “Beyond the binary
  3. COVID-19 Coverage: Online News or Feature finalist: Kailey Gee ’22 for “On call: students, siblings and learning online
  4. Multimedia Sports Story of the Year finalist: Alaina Greenlee ’23, Krisha Kapoor ’23, Hanah Kitamoto ’22 and Tosh Klever ’21 for “Broken season
  5. Photo Slideshow finalist: Owen Aanestad ’22 for “Trojan football team shuts out Liberty in season opener
  6. Newsmagazine Page/Spread Design of the Year: Zoey Guo ’22 for “New name, same game
  7. Portfolio of the Year — Artist: Kailey Gee ’22
  8. Portfolio of the Year — Photojournalist: Owen Aanestad ’22
  9. Best Use of Social Media — Social Media Promotion: WSS Staff